|
|
3.2 | Finishing the Configuration | ||
| 3.2.4 | Login banners |
|
A login banner is a message that is
displayed at login and is useful for conveying messages that affect
all network users, such as notices of impending system shutdowns.
Login banners can be seen by anyone.
Therefore, careful attention should be used in the wording of a banner
message. “Welcome” is an invitation for anyone to enter a router and
is probably not an appropriate message.
A login banner should be a warning not to attempt login unless authorized. A message such as “This is a secure system, authorized access only!” instructs unwanted visitors that any further intrusion is unwanted and illegal.
|